Flute 1 Trombone 1
Flute 2 / Piccolo Trombone 2
Oboe 1 Bass Trombone
Oboe 2 / Englishhorn Tuba
Clarinet in Bb 1 / Clarinet in Eb  
Clarinet in Bb 2 / Bass Clarinet Timpani
Bassoon 1 Percussion I/II/III
Bassoon 2 / Contrabassoon Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Shaker, Tambourine
  Sus. Cymbal, Piatti, Tam-Tam, Triangle, Anvil
F Horn 1  Tubular Bells, Glockenspiel, Vibraphone, Xylophone
F Horn 2  
F Horn 3  Harp
F Horn 4  
Bb Trumpet 1 Violin I
Bb Trumpet 2 Violin II

Duration: ~15:00



Orchestra: Philharmonie Baden-Baden

Conductor: Heiko Förster

This piece was commissioned by Baden-Baden Philharmonics and will be premiered in Sainte-Mère-Église(at Utah Beach to be precise) in a concert that honores both the success of D-Day and the ever-evolving German-French relationship.


There are many unbelievable stories that came to light after World War II ended. This piece was inspired by one of them, the story of John Steele, a paratrooper of the Allied forces. Steele was part of the landing operation on D-Day.  His story is so unique, that to this day he is remembered in the form of a memorial hanging at the church of Sainte-Mère-Église.


I wanted to both portray the emotions of Steele before and during his jump off the plane, reflect on the horrors of war but also, and more prominently, shine a light on what happened after the war ended. The sadness, the grief, the pain but also the slowly emerging optimism and the ultimate revival of humanity that, even in the most difficult of times, would prevail.

Powr.io content is not displayed due to your current cookie settings. Click on the cookie policy (functional and marketing) to agree to the Powr.io cookie policy and view the content. You can find out more about this in the Powr.io privacy policy.

Upcoming Performances: 


Philharmonie Baden-Baden, 

Heiko Förster

Sainte-Mère-Église (FR)

Musée de Débarquement